Gaping Hole

“Did you hit something?”  This was the greeting I received as my husband walked through the door.  “W-what do you mean?” I replied warily.  “There’s a big gaping hole in the shape of a rectangle on your front bumper,” he stated matter-of-factly.  My heart began to beat a steady staccato as I wracked my brains trying to think of a time I might have put my car in harm’s way.  “I didn’t hit anything that I’m aware of, unless you count the ridiculous number of potholes,” I countered.

“I think it’s the cap for the tow  hook,” he said, then added, “They don’t just pop off on their own!”  I went outside to assess the damage and sure enough, the situation was exactly as he depicted.    I was dumbfounded.  “Would someone steal the piece from my car?” I asked, my words laced with doubt.  “Nah,” he said with confidence. “Why don’t you call the dealership to see if other owners have reported a similar issue?”

After an initial disappointing conversation with a service representative, I was transferred to an advisor.  I inquired about the possibility that the cap was defective and was informed that no notes indicated any issues with this part to date.  Dan, the advisor did tell me that he has replaced many caps and that people do indeed take them. He’s unsure what the thieves do with these painted plastic caps, though, and I’m puzzled, too.

We’ll never know whether the cap popped off on its own, or was deliberately removed.   One thing’s for sure:  the painted piece of white plastic is going to cost around $100 to be replaced.  I can think of many other ways I’d like to spend that hundred dollars!

3 thoughts on “Gaping Hole

    • And what a mystery it is! I didn’t include the part about leaving my car in a fairly vacant Home Depot last Sunday for several hours after meeting up with my husband to avoid taking two cars to a family event…I’m choosing kind and going with the strong possibility that it fell off!

      Like

  1. Loved your beginning! I could so identify with the questioning by your husband. That sounds just like my husband. It seems that I have tire valve stem thieves after my car. Really! The nerve of people stealing parts off cars! Grrr!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment