Paperback Junction

This year, more than ever, books have become an obsession of mine.

Our classroom orders from the monthly book order so we can get even more books.

I participate in #titletalk to learn about new titles.

In December, I joined #bookexcursion, a dozen dazzling readers, and read and review books prior to publication.

Lately, it seems like I can’t get enough professional development from trade books.

Back in the fall, I requested that the school budget include money for building classroom libraries.

The amount was less than I hoped for, so I created a project to purchase books through Donor’s Choose, which was just completely funded this week.

Books, books, and more books.

We read them, we book talk them, we get involved in book clubs, and so much more.

It’s easy to shop for books at Amazon with one-click, low-pricing.

It’s satisfying to support the local independent bookseller.

I managed to do a little of both.

The owner of Paperback Junction emailed me today to notify me that the books had arrived and were ready for pickup.

I pulled up in front of the store, opened my trunk and Trisha brought the box out and put it in my trunk for me.

The best part – she said, “You know, Helen Hansen used to shop here.”

Helen Hansen was 100 years old when she passed earlier this year.

She is the person for whom our school was renamed.

Service with a smile and a sweet story.

Amazon can’t compete with that experience.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Paperback Junction

  1. You have worked hard to build your library – once you get started, it becomes an obsession. It is so important to have books for students to read and to make sure the books are getting into students’ hands. Book talks, sharing opportunities, book clubs, author talks, independent reading, etc.are key to making this happen. Sounds like you are on top of it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the name, Paperback Junction! Of course it reminds me of Petticoat Junction…which I am sure shows my age! I am also obsessed with books. Some months I buy more Scholastic than my students! Just don’t tell my husband!

    Like

Leave a comment