We Stopped

I thought it was going to be an ordinary walk, but boy was I mistaken!  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m happy to be outside.  We just tend to travel the same route every time we venture out.

Today was different.

At the end of the driveway, we always bang a left.  This time, she guided me to the right and across the street.  What did this mean?

Today was different.

My nose was lifted high, sniffing this new space.  I pulled harder on the gentle lead.  It didn’t bother me too much because the lead is as old as me.  It’s kind of worn out.  Immediately, I noticed that the area was wide open – a smart move since the winds were picking up again.  I bet she didn’t want to be near any suspect tall trees like our last walk together.

Today was different.

The buildings we passed were bigger.  Lots of shiny windows.  Not many cars or people were out today.  I figured I wouldn’t hear anyone tell me how handsome I am.  I think we were at the college, but shouldn’t there have been some students around?

Today was different.

The tunnel by the tracks looked familiar.  We went through it to get to the other side.  Just ahead of us, I saw a little boy holding a sign in his hands.  He looked very comfortable, wearing a sweatshirt and sneakers.  I pulled on the lead again because I love kids!  As we approached, I thought he might put his hand out to pet me.  Nope.  He didn’t move.  We got a little closer and we stopped.

“No more hurting people.  PEACE.”

Today was indeed different.

 

The Martin W. Richard Memorial is located at Bridgewater State University, in Bridgewater, Massachusetts.  May we remember Martin, only 8 years old, and all the other lives lost or changed as a result of  the violent acts during the 2013 Boston Marathon.  The Bridgewater State University Institute for Social Justice is named in Martin’s honor.

6 thoughts on “We Stopped

  1. Such powerful imagery in this poem. I often imagine the world from the perspective of my two pups as we walk. Reading the poem, I was curious to see where the walk would go. What I knew for sure was “today was different.” The small boy at the end with the sign proved the day was different.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment