Spring Tiptoes In

Signs of spring are slowly showing up for duty.

A single violet crocus boldly stands alone on the front lawn, just waiting for friends to join her.

Tulip bulbs in the center of town have joined the party in a hurry as they push themselves almost three inches out of the ground.

The air is mischievous, making our nostrils grab whiffs of smoke as neighbors excitedly burn leaves and debris from the chaos of the winter months.

Heaping piles of snow remind us of where we’ve been, while their dignity gets stripped away as they lose shape by melting at rapid speeds.

Is it safe to put the snow shovel away and replace it with a broom?

The optimist in me wins and I wait with hope for more of spring to be revealed.

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Spring Tiptoes In

  1. I love your personification of that small crocus there waiting for her friends to show up. Isn’t it fun to actively look for signs of spring? I’ve been doing that myself this year, and it has changed my outlook for the better–learning to find joy in small acts of nature.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment