Inspiration

Writers receive inspiration in the most random places and sometimes at the most inopportune times.  Often, stories are within eyeshot or earshot, just waiting to be noticed and written down.  There are countless ways to be inspired, from everyday life to extravagant moments.

Today, our students had a chance to be inspired by a local author’s experiences.  It was magic!

Hearing first graders at lunch today telling me about the stories they planned and wrote filled my heart with hope.

Listening to a mixed group of students from different grade levels sharing what they learned in individual sessions was empowering.

Watching the older students paired up with the younger students creating stories together was the best way to end a full day.

I can’t wait to read the stories that my students will create.  After today, I have a newfound appreciation for the exorbitant amount of drafts that an author completes to give me the pleasure of escaping to new places and meeting new people in the books that I enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Inspiration

Leave a comment