Second Chances

Do you believe in offering second chances to people?  Our pastor based his children’s sermon on this concept and received mixed reactions.  One young girl stated that her parents offered her second chances to clean her room.  Most of the children were quiet.  It got me thinking that perhaps their silence was due to a feeling that if they were offered a second chance, then they had made mistakes.  Perhaps they were not willing to share those mistakes publicly.

The message has stayed with me as I’ve continued on with my day.

As humans, we are bound to make mistakes, or not put our best effort forward consistently.  I know I need to be more intentional about giving second chances to my family members:  my children, my husband, and my dog.  I also need to carry this belief outside of my family circle to include my school members:  my students, my colleagues, and the parents in the community.  The ripple effect is real.  The people I encounter in each layer of my life need to get second chances when needed.

Doesn’t everyone deserve a second chance?  Or a third or a fourth, etc.?

 

 

12 thoughts on “Second Chances

  1. Absolutely! I am sometimes accused of giving my students too many chances, but I am very careful to draw the line between giving another chance and enabling poor behavior. I want people to be gentle with me. I need to do the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. How interesting to think about kids’ thoughts about second chances. It makes me wonder what my students would say. Thanks for sharing this interesting food for thought!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I also liked the child perspective in your slice. I think too often our children are afraid to mess up or perhaps think that they’ll loose our love if they aren’t “good.” Expectations are good, but even good people need second chances.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I find that I am much less happy when I am refusing to give someone another chance. I like how you tied this to children’s fear of making mistakes. We have a lot of work to do in our classrooms to show that second (and third and fourth chances…) are evidence that we are learning.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your post is a reminder about being human; we make mistakes, learn from them, and hopefully get the grace of a second chance. Thank you for a thought-provoking post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment