Fall Day

My chilled hands are numb as I come in from walking Leo, making my penmanship look slightly askew.

We need to adjust to fall now.

After-school walks can be so peaceful – just Leo and me.  We notice the fallen leaves are gathering in more places today.  The wind has quickened its pace and some leaves escape their piles and dance across lawns and sidewalks.  I tighten my grip on Leo’s gentle lead, knowing that he will happily play chase with the crisp, warm-hued artifacts of a glorious summer.

We need to adjust to fall now.

The sun is setting sooner at night preparing for Daylight Savings Time as we inch forward to the time change with each passing day.  Before it goes down, we notice the tops of tall trees, still holding their leaves hostage for a little longer, and looking like they were dipped in a golden dust.  Stunning.

We need to adjust to fall now.

The decorations are bountiful – variegated pumpkins, gourds, ghosts, spiders on webs.  Houses take on their own personalities as owners prepare for the Halloween fanfare.  Soon there will be glowing pumpkin moonshines adorning front steps and porches in and around town.

We need to adjust to fall now.

Homes will close windows tight, remembering to push up the screens in exchange for the draft-protecting storm windows.  Heat sources will be turned from off to on in anticipation of the imminent dropping temperatures late in the evenings lasting through most mornings.

We need to adjust to fall now.

Turning the corner toward our home, we catch a glimpse of the sun hitting the church steeple.  It casts a blinding bright orange light at the tip, calling us to pay attention to its beauty.

We need to adjust to fall now.

Once back inside, we close the door on the wind, refusing to invite the cool air along for even the shortest of visits.  I think about my ice-cube hands and know that we will be pulling out the baskets of hats and gloves to cover up exposed skin.  A vest will no longer cut it – fleece, then down coats will quickly line the closets.  Clothing will be layered and toes will no longer be on display.

As I light my “Fall Day” candle, I think I’m ready to embrace the changing season.

Leave a comment